top of page
  • emilynicole

Whole Heart (Hold Me Now)

Updated: Mar 23, 2021

This song has been on repeat in my head for the past couple of weeks. We have been self-isolating for 2 weeks as we were in contact with a confirmed case of Covid-19... let me tell you.. 2 weeks without being able to leave your property is a loooong time! We have tried to look at it in the most positive light, making it more like a family holiday rather than a quarantine. We are on our last day of isolation, and if that doesn't make you want to do a happy dance, nothing will!

This song, especially the first few words of it, have been a huge comfort to me during this time. To be reminded that the hands that created everything, from the smallest creatures, to the biggest galaxies, are also holding me and my life... wow! What an amazing thought!


Psalm 139:1-6:

"You have searched me, Lord, and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue, you, Lord, know it completely. You hem me in behind and before, and you lay your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain."


God has created us very intentionally, just as a potter creates with clay. "Yet you, Lord, are our Father. We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand." Isaiah 64:8 If you ever struggle with a feeling of unworthiness, remember that "God saw all that he had made, and it was very good." Genesis 1:31a His creation wasn't mundane, useless, without purpose, even just good, it was VERY good. You are his creation. You are His. You belong to Him. When we surrender to this thought and accept it, that's a pretty life changing moment!


Go back and listen to the song again, this time paying special attention to the chorus and post-chorus. I love how they have used their phrasing in the last part of the song, stating that grace owns the ground that death once did. Grace is mentioned so often in the Bible, that it is hard to pick just one verse to focus on, but I think this one sums it up perfectly. “Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting?” But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ." 1 Corinthians 15:55,57 Isn't that just the best definition of grace? That He gives us victory over death through Jesus? Wow.


Thanks be to God that he gives us His grace to carry us through our lives. He has loved us in such a way that we are no longer broken. Lets celebrate and surrender to that thought!


As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. If you are interested in purchasing this song, along with other great songs, click the link above to purchase "People" by Hillsong. Your support is appreciated!


Aodhan King | Joel Houston

© 2018 Hillsong Music Publishing Australia (Admin. by Capitol CMG Publishing)

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page