top of page
  • Writer's pictureemilynicole

Take Heart!

Hey everyone! It's been a while, I know but I promise I'm still around. I've been working on a very tough, emotional post for the last few months now, and its almost ready. I promise. In the mean time, enjoy a post from my friend, Megan. Enjoy!

Anyone else feeling defeated right now? We have been in this global pandemic for over a year now. Where I live, more restrictions have just been announced. I am not sure about your story through this pandemic, but for myself, it has been one of the greatest trials that I have faced. From working on the front lines, to watching people I love go through great amounts of pain. And the thing is even though the world seems to be crashing around me, there is an inner peace that I have. I could not imagine going through this year without it.


I love history and cannot help but think about the trials of the past. The early Christians in the siege of Jerusalem, the many plagues that have happened, like the period of time now called the Black Death, and all the other growing pain this world has faced. We can be united with our brothers and sisters of the past and can have an inner peace.


Matthew West uses one of my favorite verses, John 16:33, as the root of this song.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (NIV)


In this passage, Jesus was talking to his disciples before his arrest about what was to come. He was preparing them for the time that He was going to return to the Father and the disciples will be going back to their own lives. Jesus was real with them. He told them these things so that they may have peace in Him. He told them that they WILL have trouble. He did not say they might have trouble, or they could have trouble. No, He clearly states they WILL have trouble, and we will too. Jesus knew what was in store for his disciples and He knows what is in store for us.


The beauty of this verse is that Jesus does not end there. He tells them (and us) to take heart because he has overcome the world.


All the fears, anxieties, stress, and darkness that we all are feeling right now, we can surrender them because Jesus has overcome the world. He is right there beside us ready and willing to take our burdens. He may not take the situation away. Only God knows how long we will be in this pandemic. But one thing that is certain is that He can (and is) changing us through these trials and I pray that we can all feel the peace of being in Him.


This is not easy and feeling defeated is okay. Allow yourselves to feel emotions, but do not allow those emotions to take control. There is no 'one step' solution to dealing with our emotions or feelings. Nobody is the same, so I suggest reaching out, taking a leap and finding the help that is appropriate for you. I can only speak from my experiences, but they are not yours. There is a resource tab on this blog. See if something stands out. Talk to a friend.


The one thing I want to stress is you are not alone. Do not carry this burden alone. There is a community of fellow believers that are willing to fight for you. And most importantly God is right there. Ready and able to give you what you need.






75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page