top of page

Top 10 Best Contemporary Christmas Songs!

Want some new Christmas music inspiration? Are you tired of the same 5 songs that seem to be played on the radio for Christmas?

You're in the right spot! I LOVE

Christmas music, and have spent more than a few years collecting some of my all time favorite original Christmas songs! These songs are playing throughout my home all of December (and maybe most of November.. shhhh, don't tell anyone!😉)


I've wrapped 10 of my favorites into one big blog post, you'll have to imagine the big red bow on top! Merry Early Christmas! (I've also made a playlist, so you can listen to them all together here.)


Get a cup of warm hot chocolate, snuggle by your Netflix fireplace, and take a listen to some of my favorite Christmas songs!

 

1. Heavenly Hosts by for KING & COUNTRY

My new favorite this year, a new, original song by For King and Country. Seriously, if you want a Christmas album that will give you chills, I think their new CD is the one for you! For the full effect, it is the best when you listen to it from start to finish!


2. Somewhere In Your Silent Night by Casting Crowns

Love this song! Casting Crowns will probably always be one of my favorite music groups, and their Christmas music definitely doesn't disappoint! Many a tree has been decorated listening to their Christmas music!

3. Behold Him by Francesca Battistelli

I cried the first time I heard this song. Yes, I cry easily. I think this song is a perfect song to wrap up 2020 with. Actually, Francesca originally recorded this for last year, but just didn't feel right releasing it then. God knew that so many people,. including me, would need this for 2020.

4. Until You by Danny Gokey

I watched the American Idol season that Danny Gokey was on, in 2008 (I was in grade 9 at the time 🤭) and I was so happy when I found out he was pursuing a career in Christian music. If you don't know, he has quite a story! He lost his wife only 4 weeks before he auditioned for American Idol, and he used that pain to strengthen his relationship with God. Definitely one of my favorite artists!

5. Face of God by Phil Wickham

Could you imagine having an angel appear to tell you that you would give birth to the child who would save the world? I sure couldn't. I can only imagine what was going through her mind after that news! Luke 1records Mary's song, where she praises God and rejoices in God. And this song tries its best to wrap up how she would have felt.

6. This is Jesus by We Are Messengers

This one may be familiar to many of you, at least the tune! I love it when artists use familiar music and re-write it to be more current, and in this case, they Christmas-ized it! (Ok, that's probably not a word, but now it is!) "Rejoice, Hope is Here!"

7. Christmas Day by Chris Tomlin & We the Kingdom

It is so easy to get pulled into the commercial event that Christmas has become in our society. This song is a great reminder of the true reason of Christmas! The Lord Reigns!


8. Light of the World (Sing Hallelujah) by We the Kingdom

We the Kingdom must love Christmas! But really, who doesn't? Love this new song that was released by these artists this year. Sing Hallelujah for the things He has done!


9. Christmas Morning by The McClures

Hannah McClure must have one of the coolest voices, in my opinion! (I love distinctive voices!) Love this new song that was released by this husband and wife duo.


10. Today is the Saviour's Day by Rend Collective

Anyone else wish they were Irish (or at least in Ireland for Christmas?) I love a good accent, so I have a soft spot for Rend Collective. This is their new song just released a couple weeks ago, and I love the joy that is almost tangible in this video!

(Also if you have kids, and you hate yourself just a bit, take a listen their take on "I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas." My kids love it... Yay....)



Do you have any favorite Christmas songs or albums that you listen to each year? Comment below!

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page