top of page
  • Writer's pictureemilynicole

Jesus Loves Me, This I Know

Updated: Mar 23, 2021

"Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself." (Matthew 6:27,34)


This song is one of my first requests. Yay! My sister mentioned she loved the bagpipes in this song, and maybe the words, just a little! Take a listen below.... enjoy the bagpipes (and the words!)

Not sure why, but the story of David and Saul pops into my head when I hear this song.


In 1 Samuel 18 & 19, the Bible tells us how Saul was filled with jealousy of David, and how Saul attempted to murder him on more than one occasion. The footnotes of my Bible lay out that since Saul had been disobedient to God, he was punished by the assaults of an evil spirit, which increased his jealousy, violence and his feelings of rejection as king. This jealousy built up, and one day, while he (conveniently) had a spear in his hand, he threw it at David, trying to kill him.


"But an evil spirit from the Lord came upon Saul as he was sitting in his house with a spear in his hand. While David was playing the harp, Saul tried to pin him to the wall with his spear, but David eluded him as Saul drove the spear into the wall." (1 Samuel 19:9-10)


That night, David made his escape. He fled from Saul and hid from him for around 8 years. While he was on the run for his life uncertain of what would happen to him, David didn't lose his faith in God. He wrote many psalms during this time, outlining his love for God and how God was his hiding place & fortress. For example, Psalm 59 was written when Saul had sent men to watch David's house in order to kill him.


"Deliver me from my enemies, O God; protect me from those who rise up against me. See how they lie in wait for me! But I will sing of your strength, in the morning I will sing of your love; for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble. O my Strength, I sing praise to you; you, O God, are my fortress, my loving God." (Psalm 59:1,3a,16,17)


When David was uncertain of what was going to come, he turned to God, and sang of His love. He found a fortress in God when all things were uncertain, and he didn't know if he would make it through the night. David knew that God loved him.

 

The Bible is clear that an evil spirit that came from the Lord entered Saul. I

find this just fascinating. Is this the same spirit that enters our minds today and causes anxiety and depression? Jennie Allen in her book, "Get Out of Your Head" (a must read if you are struggling with toxic thoughts, anxiety etc) says this about evil spirits. "I believe that there is a real devil and that he has real demons working for him and that a battle for our hearts and souls and minds is playing out all around us all the time..." This battle is more evident now, more than ever. The World Health Organization (WHO) claims that 1 in 13 people suffer from anxiety. It honestly wouldn't surprise me if that number is higher now, especially after the year that 2020 has been!


"Cast all your anxiety on him (God) because he cares for you." (1 Peter 5:7)


Webster defines anxiety as "a feeling of worry, nervousness, or unease, typically about an imminent event or something with an uncertain outcome." I think David had every right to feel a bit anxious about his circumstances. I know I would be a bit worried about someone hunting me down that had actively tried to throw a spear at me while I was playing the piano! But instead of being anxious, David called out to God, seeking refuge in God's wings. He found rest in God and he knew that God loved him.


"One thing God has spoken, two things have I heard: that you, O God, are strong, and that you, O Lord, are loving." (Psalm 62:12)


There is nowhere we can go that God is not with us. "In his hand are the depths of the earth, and the mountain peaks belong to him." (Psalm 95:4) He loves us through "mountains high and valleys low" I love how Aaron Shust puts it in his devotional about this song found here: https://www.aaronshust.com/devotionals/this-i-know


He says: "When you’re surrounded by uncertainty, you may not be able to say your earthly father loves you, but you can know, without a doubt, that you are loved by the Father, loved by the Son and loved by His Spirit that lives within you. This is the rock on which we stand."


I think there is a reason that 'Jesus Loves Me' is one of the first songs we learn as children. When we realize and know that Jesus loves us, we can stand on that promise and use it as our hope in this world.


"Jesus loves me He will stay

Close beside me all the way

On the cross You died for me

I will ever live for Thee"


Whatever you are walking through, whether it's isolation, a job loss, sickness, depression, anxiety, or any other hardship, let these words guide you through the valleys...


Jesus loves me, this I know!


If you are interested in purchasing "Get Out of Your Head" by Jennie Allen, click on the Amazon link above in the blog! As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.


Aaron Shust | AJ Pruis | Matthew West

© Combustion Five (Admin. by Me Gusta Music LLC), Highly Combustible Music (Admin. by One77 Songs c/o Kobalt Songs Music Publishing (ASCAP)), One77 Songs (Admin. by One77 Songs c/o Kobalt Songs Music Publishing (ASCAP)), Two Story House Music (Admin. by One77 Songs c/o Kobalt Songs Music Publishing (ASCAP)), Shust Music, LLC (Admin. by Shust Music LLC)



36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page