top of page
  • Writer's pictureemilynicole

To Those Struggling with Depression

Updated: Mar 23, 2021

This week is mental illness awareness week, a subject that is very near and dear to my heart. After my son was born, I suffered from extreme depression, and still do! There were days I could not function, and sat on the couch or in bed crying. Looking back at that dark time, I wish I would have seen the warning signs that something bad was happening in my brain.


That is the incredibly hard thing about depression, it sneaks up on you! Little by little, your life slips away, and before you know it, you feel numb all the time. One of the main struggles I had was not wanting anyone to know that I was suffering with depression, so I hid it. I hid it from my family, and my friends, my church and even my husband for a while. I created a "safe spot" where I didn't have to let anyone inside. I was afraid that people would view me as broken, or not a "good Christian" if I admitted that I was struggling. Through self denial, and stubborness, I told myself it was only a little problem, and time would fix it.


It took me a long time to actually accept and voice that I had a problem, and I think that was the changing point for me. I found help, I reached out to a doctor, I talked about what was happening in my head with people who cared for me. I still struggle with it, and need to remind myself daily that I have worth, and that I am loved more than I can understand by my heavenly Father. It is an uphill battle, and there have been valleys I have traveled through that terrified me, but with God's help, and the love of family and friends around me, I am working on being ok.


I had heard this song before, and it never really hit me what it was about. Then I ran into a video on Youtube where song writer, Luke Smallbone, laid out the back story of this song, and its special meaning to him and his family. His wife was struggling with morning sickness, and was prescribed medicine to help, which eventually led to an addiction. This addiction took hold of her life, and they both realized that she needed to "burn the ship" and step into a new day. (If you are interested in watching this video, you can find it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zii3-F0DkQI)


This song will always hold a special place in my heart, and serves as a good reminder to daily start fresh. "Because of the Lord's great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning, great is your faithfulness." Lamentations 3:22-23


In 1518, Hernan Cortes was placed in charge of an expedition to Spain. On February 18, 1519, he set sail from Cuba to Yucatán, bringing with him 11 ships, 508 soldiers, about 100 sailors, and16 horses. When he landed at Tabasco sometime in March, 1519, he made a life living among the local Indians, who accepted him and gave him presents. He set sail again some time later to another spot on the southeastern Mexican coast, where he founded the city, Veracruz. As captain general, he exercised and disciplined his army, and as a symbol of commitment and determination to conquering, he set fire to all of his ships. This showed his troops that there was no turning back, they were turning over a new page.


God calls us to renew our minds. "Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind." (Romans 12:2) We are told to keep our minds on "whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things."


We are a new creation when we believe in Jesus as our Savior. "Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!" (2 Corinthians 5:17) God has the power to transform our lives, and our minds. The first step is reaching out to God to save us from our brokenness and struggles. When we put our trust and hope in God, through the Holy Spirit, will slowly regenerate our hearts. "And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord's glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit." (2 Corinthians 3:18)


Just as Lot's wife was turned into a pillar of salt after looked back at Sodom after she was told by an angel to not look back, I believe that God does not want us to dwell on any event or struggle we go through. We need to accept that God gives us seasons of life, but makes everything beautiful in His own time. "There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven: a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance." Ecclesiastes 3:1,4 God does not want us to stay stuck in our suffering, and will bring us out of the dark in His own time. Whatever struggle you are going through, God is bigger. He will help. He will transform.


When we accept that we are broken humans who are in need of a Savior, that's when all the pieces start falling into place. If you struggle with depression, whether it is mild, or severe, please take it from me... reach out to someone! Pray that God would enter into your heart and slowly begin the transformation process, so you can turn the page and start a new chapter in your life. Don't forget to "burn the ship" and say goodbye to this time in your life. God will provide healing, if we trust Him. Give it to God and step into tomorrow!

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. If you are interested in purchasing this song, along with other great songs, click the link to purchase "Burn the Ships" by For King and Country. Your support is appreciated!


© 2016 CentricSongs

Joel Smallbone | Luke Smallbone | Seth Mosley

Kilns Music I Method to the Madness I Shankel Songs

Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. I Shaun Shankel Pub Designee I WC Music Corp.



Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page